Image

The Book Lover’s Tag

Finally getting back into blogging has been amazing. Most of my writing over the past couple years has been college assignments such as lab reports, research papers, essays, and the like. This has been a lot more relaxing and free.

The amazing Erin of Unbound Roots recently tagged me in one of her posts: The Continuation of The Book Lover’s Tag. Erin was one of the first new blogs I found after returning to blogging. She is also easily one of my most favorites I’ve ever read. She is a beautiful writer, and if you are not following her right now, you should do so immediately! As far as this post goes, there are a series of questions that the writer answers regarding reading. Then the writer tags a few other writers/blogs that they would like to answer the same questions.

Now, you’ll have to bear with me. I’m not a reader. Most of my reading has been done for school assignments, so some of my answers will likely not be the best, but I will be as honest as I can!

Lets get started!

Do you have a specific place for reading?

I don’t have a specific place for reading. Usually when I read, it is for school, so it happens either at the library, in my bed, or in the living room. However, I can read anywhere that is quiet. For the most part, however, I try to read myself to sleep in my bed.

Bookmark or random pieces of paper?

Well, I’ve always just used anything that’s next to me. Sometimes gum wrappers, sometimes pieces of plastic, really just anything small that I can shove in there. Every once in a while, I will also fold the corner of the page…I know, I’m a terrible person! However, I did purchase a bookmark in Ecuador during my Galapagos trip, so I plan on trying to use that!

Can you stop anywhere or must it be at the end of a chapter?

I hate stopping anywhere other than the end of the chapter. However, I do get too tired every once in a while to make it, so I stop at the end of the first paragraph on a page. My short-term memory is sub-par, though, so I usually end up rereading pages anyways.

Do you eat or drink whilst reading?

I will do both, especially if I have a deadline to meet. Multitasking at its finest!

Music or TV whilst reading?

Never. I am one of those people who cannot focus with background noises (unless they are nature related). I need complete silence unless I’m outside, and even then, I cannot focus with any type of talking/singing/humming/etc.

One book at a time or several?

Well, for classes, I often have to read several at a time. However, in real life, I can barely handle one at a time!

Do you prefer to read at home or elsewhere?

I would definitely prefer to read at home in the comfort of my own bed, however, I can read anywhere if there is nothing else to distract me.

Read out loud or silently?

Now this depends. If I’m reading a book for enjoyment, I have to read silently to myself. If I’m falling asleep though, I might whisper to myself. If I am reading a book to learn and memorize the content, I enjoy reading out loud and having conversations about it with myself (or whoever else is present). Example:

Me: “Oh, wow! Did you know that there are three types of population dispersion?”
Also me: “Oh my gosh no way! But like…what are they?”
Me again: “I was hoping you would ask that! Clumped, random, and uniform!”
Me once more: “OMGOMGOMG THAT’S SO AMAZING!”

I kid you not, this is one of the ways I learn. This is one of my many study tactics. No, I’m not completely insane, though I’m sure it seems that way. And yes, this can go on for HOURS.

Do you read ahead or skip pages?

Well, this depends. If I’m really interested in the material, I tend to have wandering eyes, especially when the book gets really intense or interesting. They like to skim over everything to see what is going to happen. But I really try to read every page and not do this!

Break the spine or keep it like new?

I don’t really have a preference for this, but I supposed I would rather keep it like new. Though I do like being able to set a book down and have it stay open without me having to hold it there. What can I say … I’m lazy!

Do you write in your books?

Definitely not! I absolutely refuse to write in books. It’s the same with highlighting. That is not the way I can learn information. I prefer to write notes down in a notebook for each chapter or section.

What books are you reading now?

I picked up the book Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher at one of the airports on my way to the Galapagos. However, we were so busy on the trip that I didn’t get very far into it. I watched the Netflix original based on the book, and I loved it. I know that when it first came out it sparked a lot of controversy with how they portrayed suicide. I won’t get into my thoughts on that. I have been told that the book has a different ending than the show did. That is the main reason I bought it, because I hated the ending of the show. I haven’t made the time to read it yet, but I will definitely do so.

Favorite childhood book?

Even as a child, I wasn’t much of a reader. However, some of the books that come to my memory quickly are:

Heir Apparent by Vivian Vande Velde (I loved this book! It can be found here).
The Magic Treehouse Series by Mary Pope Osborne (Some can be found here).
The Junie B. Jones Series by Barbara Park (Some can be found here).
Love You Forever by Robert Munsch (It can be found here).
Tiger Eyes by Judy Blume (It can be found here).

All-time favorite book?

This is a tough one. For the longest time, Tiger Eyes by Judy Blume (found here) was my favorite book. It is one of the only books I’ve read over and over again. It is such a beautiful read. However, for one of my classes, I had to read a book called Letters From a Skeptic by Gregory Boyd and Edward Boyd (found here). I couldn’t put this down. It is a collection of a series of letters between a Christian son and a non-believer father where the father is asking questions that most non-believers ask such as “Do all non-Christians go to hell?” and “Why is the world full of suffering?” The son, a teacher in apologetics, uses the Bible and his own knowledge and perception to answer these difficult questions. It is truly an incredible read for people in all walks of life.

The Nominations for Book Lover’s Tag:

Tag! You’re it (if you choose to play)!

Ritu of But I Smile Anyway
Jo of The Inquisitive Writer
Traci of Traci York, Writer

If you choose to participate, please link back to this post. I would love to hear the lives of avid and, perhaps, non-readers!

Even if you were not tagged, I would still like to know about your reading life! What are you reading? What are your favorite books? Anything you want to tell, I would love to hear! Please comment below!

 

9 thoughts on “The Book Lover’s Tag

  1. Unbound Roots says:

    McKenna, what a gift to wake up and read this today. Thank you so very much for your kind words. Also, I loved your responses! You had me chuckling with your conversation piece. And, I think I need to read Letters From a Skeptic. Your description has me hooked! Thank you for continuing The Book Lover’s Tag! It was so much fun to read!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for giving me the opportunity to write this by tagging me in the first place! You should definitely read it! I don’t necessarily agree with every it says, but it is truly a great read! It helps to answer some of those questions that most non-Christians ask.

      Like

Leave a Reply

