Image

The Real Reason I Stopped Blogging

If you’ve followed me since the beginning, you might wonder why I stopped blogging. My very first blog post was on December 4, 2014. It was 1:00 AM, and I was feeling wide awake and in a spur of the moment decision, I decided to Google about blogging. I found WordPress immediately, and without another thought, I jotted down my random thoughts and made my first blog post (you can find it here). It felt so good to write for no reason except for the joy of it. I never thought anything would happen beyond letting my thoughts become written words, but I remember one person liked the post and two people followed my blog between that night and the following day. I couldn’t believe that people actually took the time to read my post and decide that they might want to read more.

After that I was hooked. Over the next few months, I would jot down any thoughts or ideas I might have. The best part…I was the only one who knew about it. I didn’t tell my family or my friends. The thought of people I know reading and judging my writing terrified me. Not only that, but without telling anyone else, I would be able to freely write anything I wanted.

However, my secret hobby didn’t stay a secret. Before long, people started finding out about it and reading it. They would mention things here and there about it, some good and some bad. Before long, there were posts I wanted to make, but I couldn’t out of fear of offending people I knew. I still have drafts of posts I wanted to finish and publish, but refused. What was originally a very strong passion of mine became too stressful. I wasn’t allowed to be free any longer.

To try to get my rhythm and passion back, I even tried to start a completely different blog, one about the adventures I would take while in Florida and beyond. However, I still couldn’t quite find my voice again.

Two and a half years later, I stand here, determined to rediscover the passion I once so strongly had. I hope that you will stand with me.

If anyone else has any stories of their blogging struggles, please feel free to leave them in the comments. I’d love to hear about them!

 

4 thoughts on “The Real Reason I Stopped Blogging

  1. I’ve felt the same way. I’m on my 2nd blog as well, I wonder if this is quite common. I’m taking a little different approach with this one verses my first experience. I’ve had quite a bit on my plate this last year and am looking forward to getting back into blogging on a regular basis. I look forward to following you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad to year I’m not the only blogger that has struggled with this! I also feel that this is likely a common theme. Like you, I’m taking a very different approach to my second blog, but I am hoping to keep up with both, at least until I feel more comfortable in one. Thank you for the follow! I have returned the favor!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yep same here! My second blog is light hearted & more personal. I use a different name and I’m having fun with it as I exaggerate quite a lot on it. It helps my creative brain. 😁
    It was meant to be secret but when i set it up, I didn’t realise it was connected to my first blog so everyone could see my name and bio. Lol!
    But my 2 best friends told me to just go with it and let it be what it is!
    Bit sometimes there’s things I really want to rant about but like you, I can’t in case someone gets offended……and they probably don’t read it anyway!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it’s really awesome to have two different blogs. It allows me to blog on two completely separate topics! Plus I love that I can be really sassy and sarcastic as much as I want!
      I think it’s best to be public. I actually just went public with my blogs a couple days ago, which was a huge step for me.
      There are definitely some things I don’t feel comfortable posting about for that reason, but I have decided that I am going to try to post things like that even when I think it might offend someone, as long as the damage won’t be too bad!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

