Image

Illumask Update: Week One

Alright readers! I have officially been using the illumask for one week! So far, I have only used it once a week. I have heard of people using it more often than that and seeing results quicker. I cannot find whether or not there are any side effects to this…I haven’t been able to find any as of yet! In case you don’t know about Illumask, basically, it uses red and blue LED lights kill acne-causing bacteria and stimulate skin cell healing and production. It is supposed to work the same way as those really expensive light therapy sessions you can get done at the dermatologist. Pretty cool! For a little more information, see my initial post here.

On the box, it says that you should use a gentle cleanser to wash your face before you start your 15-minute mask session. So far, I have been using this:

Illumask 1-1

After using the mask, you are supposed to follow up with your preferred skin care routine. I have been using this (in order of pictures):

Illumask 1-2

Illumask 1-4

Illumask 1-3
Illumask 1-5

I am (so far) a fan of the juice beauty line. I have sensitive skin, so it tends to work well with me because of its organic ingredients.

I am still trying to figure out which skin care routine works best for me. I don’t know if I really like the stuff I’m using right now or not, so I may change it depending on how my face looks at the end of these 30 days.

So here are my before and after results for the first week:

Right Side

Left Side

Okay, so they are not the results I’m looking for yet. The top picture shows that my skin did improve a small amount, but the bottom pic is just hard to look at. In all fairness, I have been stressing over classes, homework, and tests. What you are unable to see from the pictures are that the pimples are smaller. They are not as swollen. They are all just small and dried up. But they are scabbed over, and I have a heck of a time not picking at scabs… Hopefully I will be able to get past that. I have had a few new zits pop up, but not as many as usual. Unfortunately, the photos don’t exactly give justice to the improvements. Hopefully next week will look better!

I think for this next week, I will be upping my usage to two sessions per day. I want to see if attacking my acne more aggressively will help at all. On the bright side, the box does say that you will see results in as little as two weeks. I was hoping for quicker results, but I know that I need to be patient with this (as well as any other acne product).

Leave a Reply

