Sweet Turtles O’ Mine

I have mentioned a couple of times in passing that I have four lovely pet turtles. I have been promising a post about my lovely babies. So here it is! First off, I have one Russian (horsefield’s) tortoise, two ornate box turtles, and one baby eastern box turtle. They are all (for the most part) rescues. As you know by now, I am a huge lover of turtles. They are by far my favorite animals. A lot of people think that they don’t do much, but that is totally wrong!

Okay, I will start with Gilbert, the Russian tortoise. I rescuedย him from the museum I work at. He was extremely depressed there and had stopped eating. His beak was overgrown, and so were his nails. He hated being around loud, screaming kids all day. When I brought him home, he became an entirely new tortoise. He was very active and would eat anything and everything in sight! Dandelions are his favorites! He is (approximated age by me) probably around 20 years old. He could live to be more than 50 years old if cared for correctly! He is a vegetarian and loves romaine lettuce. He loves to watch Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles on TV (not lying). Here is Gilbert:

Gilbert01

Seriously?! Just look at that adorable face! I just love him! He was my very first pet (of my own) and he is amazing. He cuddles, plays games, and can RUN. Seriously, he is EXTREMELY fast when he wants to be. AND he can CLIMB! Yes, turtles can do A LOT!

Gilbert03

Here are the two of us before my senior prom. No, he was not my date, but he would have been a great one! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Gilbert02

Here are the two of us getting ready to go to an academic awards banquet during my senior year of high school. Yes, I am seriously obsessed with him. He is just my favorite!

Gilbert 04

He is a total cuddle bug and will fall asleep on or next to me all the time! Yes, he is asleep in this photo.

Gilbert05

Yes, that is Gilbert on my tree. He was able to climb slightly higher than this. How impressive is that?! Super impressive would be the correct answer! I mean, this is a treeโ€ฆ.imagine him on a fence or something he could really get his arms into! And no, he received no help prior to this picture. This was the first time I had ever seen him climb, and I was SHOCKED!

Gilbert06

Not to mention, he is a Denver Broncos fan! Total package right here lady tortoises!

Gilbert 07

We totally mess around at night too. This was taken at roughly 1AM. Yes, he is perfect!

Next, we will talk about Perry! Perry is my baby! I have had him since he was about 8 months old. He is now a little over two years! He is a baby eastern box turtle. I got him from Philadelphia, PA. He wasn’t exactly a rescue, but there are so many people who will buy turtles not knowing what to expect, and they get abused because of it. So in a way, it was. At least he is in really good care. Yes, he is adorable and tends to be everyone’s favorite because of how little he is. Now, I don’t know if he is actually a he, and I won’t know until he is about 5 years old. Here’s hoping! If he is in fact a she, Perry will become a Periwinkle, but we will still call her Perry. Smart planning on my part, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰ And yes, he is named after Perry the platypus off of Phineas and Ferb. What can I sayโ€ฆ.I’m still a child at heart! Here’s Perry:

Perry01

He was so very little when I got him. It seems so long ago now. He has doubled in size in the past two years!

Perry02

This is Perry compared to my hand when I first got him. He is now almost the same size as my palm! We used to be able to get him to sleep just by covering him up. He is just so precious when he is asleep. Yes, he will cuddle too sometimes.

Perry03

This was the first time Gilbert met Perry. Believe it or not, Gilbert was TERRIFIED of the little guy. So funny to watch! They are still not too crazy about each other, but they will just stay far apart when they are both outside.

Perry04

Sometimes, however, they can be friends long enough for mama to take a picture (this hardly ever happens though)!

Perry05

This was one of the first days I had Perry. He was still nameless at this point. Just look at how tiny he is! So crazy!

Perry06

Did I mention he is a pro skateboarder? I guess that’s kind of important! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Perry07

And yes, he thinks he is extremely tough when, in fact, he just looks even more adorable! The stuff on his face is calcium powder by the way!

Perry08

Oh yeah, and he is a Broncos fan too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Perry09

I would not be surprised if all of my turtles thought that I was the craziest person in the world! But just look at his face in this! I just can’t even handle the cuteness!!

Next will be Jake. In case you were wondering, I’m doing this list in the order that I got my turtles. Jake is an ornate box turtle, and he is BEAUTIFUL. He has blood-red eyes and a beautiful shell pattern. I also got Jake (I call him Jakey-poo by the way) at the museum that I work at. Someone had donated him, and at the time, we had no room for him. It took very little convincing for my parents to allow me to take him home. Fun fact about box turtle: they live on land, but they can swim! They have an air bubble at the top of their shells that allows them to float. Here’s Jake:

Jakey01

This is the first picture I have of Jakey when I first put him into his new enclosure. The one he came to me in was HORRENDOUS! His shell was a little dry and extremely flat, but other than that, he was in great shape!

Jakey02

Jake is the dinosaur turtle. He justย looks like a dinosaur to me. However, he is also the mean, snarky, jerk turtle too. He is extremely mean! He will flip Gilbert or Sweet Pea over in the pool, he hisses ALL. THE. TIME., he claws very hard, and sometimes he bites! He is very mean, but I’m sure he had a very hard life before he became mine, so I love him anyways!

Jakey03

But seriously, how could I hate him when I wake up to this adorable face peeking out of his substrate in the morning! He will burrow into his substrate in the winter to stay warmer. Honestly, how freaking adorable is this?! I can’t handle it! I love my turtles more and more with each word I write!

Jakey04

Check out his GORGEOUS red eye! Oh my gosh, I’m in love all over again! My little dinosaur!

Jakey 05

I make them take pictures with me a lot. I’m sure they hate me for it! But I don’t care. I love the pictures! Oh, and a fun fact about Jake is that he wags his tail when he drinks water and sometimes when he walks. SOOOOOO adorable!

Jakey06

Yes, he is also a Broncos fan, and LOVES it when the Broncos devour the Chargersโ€ฆ.or any other NFL team!

Jakey07

He may be a jerk sometimes, but I love him always. I am so happy I was able to take him in and give him the care and love he deserves!

And finally, we have come to Sweet Pea! She is very, very unique. Technically, she is not mine. I am rehabilitating her for the greenhouse I work at, but she has come to be a part of the family. The facility she was in was terrible. She was in horrible shapeโ€ฆ.eye infections in both eyes, overgrown nails and beak, dry shell, diarrhea, and much more! I’m not sure what exactly she is, she is either an ornate box turtle or a hybrid of an ornate box turtle and florida box turtle. She is beautiful either way! She has come so far and is eating like a champ now! She has a hard time getting a hold of stuff because her beak is so overgrownโ€ฆ.I honestly have no idea how she was eating at the greenhouse. Here’s Sweet Pea:

SP01

I don’t have as many pictures of her because she gets really skittish around cameras and people. She is very she and very afraid of pretty much everything. Anyways, the top picture is from when I first got her, and the bottom is after a couple of weeks in my care. HUGE difference in both appearance and attitude. Other than being shy, she seems totally happy!

SP02

Sweet Pea is also a Broncos fan. She is a little cheerleader for them! How adorable!

SP03

Sweet Pea is the turtle at the top. She and Jakey don’t really like each other all that much. They tend to go in opposite directions when they see each other. Sweet Pea tends to like Gilbert a lot more than the other two.

SP04

However, sometimes I leave them alone for a couple of minutes and come back to them trying to mate! I guess it’s better than them trying to bite each other…

SP05

And finally, here is me and my girl, both as happy as can be. Just look at those smiles!

So there you have it! You have now met all of my amazing turtles! If you made it this far, congratulations! You have read over 1600 words! My turtles are my world. I don’t know what I would do without them. They are amazing. They all have such huge personalities and are all so outgoing in their own ways. I hope you all enjoyed reading as much as I enjoyed writing! Feel free to ask any and all questions about my turtles or me! ๐Ÿ™‚

16 thoughts on “Sweet Turtles O’ Mine

  1. ๐Ÿ˜€
    Adorable turtles and the way you describe them, very motherly indeed! And… in the one your turtles are trying to mate… Gilbert, I blv, the blood red eyed one… he appears to have an “oh boy! am gonna flip over any moment now!” expression! :p

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have always liked turtles never had one as a pet would always stop and moved them out of the road to keep them safe. I have been late for work more then once rescuing turtles. I always enjoy hearing about some loving their pet it matters not what the pet is only that it people loves it.

    Like

  3. Haha I enjoyed this blog! Turtles are the best pets. Quick story…I am from New Orleans and during hurricane Katrina, I rescued two turtles the size of Perry. I took them everywhere they possibly could go…They actually traveled to Africa with me also in my pocket while on vacation. At the time I didn’t know I could have been fine $250,000 because of the airline laws. lol WHEW. Anyways, I kept them for about 2 years then let them go. It just brought a lot of good memories back, great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow! That’s so wonderful! Turtles are by far my favorite animals! I’m so glad you were able to protect those turtles for those two years and also very grateful you were able to release them back into the wild. ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s so awesome! And I’m very glad you didn’t get caught with them in your pocket! That would have been awful!
      Thank you so much for the comment and the story! ๐Ÿ™‚ It certainly brightened my day and brought a smile to my face! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: An Introduction of Sorts | Adventures Of A New Floridian

Leave a Reply

