Image

Prompt of the Day: All Grown Up

“When was the first time you really felt like a grown up (if ever)?” –The Daily Post

I haven’t had any inspiration to write these past couple days. I wasn’t crazy about the daily prompts and there was nothing really happening that I felt the need to write about. One of these days, I will put together a post about my turtles. I just haven’t decided when. So we can all look forward to that! 🙂

Anyways, I will tell you that I am completely a child. I am almost through my second year of college, and I still live with my parents. This is only because it’s a lot cheaper and I get paid to go to college this way. Regardless, I have never really been “on my own.” My parents spoil me completely. They pay for my phone, insurance, gas, food, and pretty much anything else you can think of. I am very blessed.

I’m not sure if I’ve ever had a chance to feel like a grown up. There was the day I got hired on at my job, my 18th birthday, the day I graduated, and my first day of college, but I never really felt like a grown up during any of those. I felt like I was GROWING UP, but never like a grown up.

I went to Costa Rica the summer after my senior year of high school. However, I was part of a school tour group so it didn’t feel like I was a grown up. Not really.

The only times I can think that I felt close(ish) to being an adult was when I bought my laptop and when I paid the property taxes at a tax lien sale. Because I don’t have to pay for anything, I have always put the money I am given or that I earn into a savings account. With the money I saved, I was easily able to purchase my $2,000+ laptop. No, I didn’t need to spend that much, but I really wanted a Mac, and I wanted a really nice laptop that would last me at least four years. Being able to buy something for myself felt so awesome. Paying the property taxes at a tax lien sale always makes me feel a lot more grown up as well. They are such great investments, and one day, I could make a ton of money off of them. Just that thought makes me feel slightly grown up.

However there really hasn’t ever been a time that I have felt like a “grown up.” Soon, I will be moving and I will have to grow up very quick. So there is still hope! I will always be a child at heart, but one day I will be a “real” grown up too!

2 thoughts on “Prompt of the Day: All Grown Up

Leave a Reply

