Prompt of the Day: Cause, Meet Effect

“You can singlehandedly create a causal relation between two things that are currently unconnected — a word and an emotion, a song and an extreme weather event, wearing a certain color and winning the lottery. What cause would you link to what effect, and why?” –The Daily Post

I’m tuning in a bit late tonight (It’s currently 11:37PM here as I’m beginning this post). Here we go!

Picture this…Imagine a world where a mere smile could truly change the world. I read stories about people who leave the door and tell themselves that if just one person smiles or waves at them, they won’t take their lives. You know what happens? People are too caught up in their lives to look around them and give people a smile or say “Hello!” and these poor people feel so unloved and alone in the world that they take their own lives.

I truly try to at least smile at anyone who makes eye contact with me and to those who seem to be having a bad day. You never know how much it can change. I have been in terrible moods where I just wanted to go home and sleep the rest of the day off, but then someone smiles at me and all of a sudden, I don’t feel so bad anymore. I actually feel lifted up.

Imagine if a smile could stop a war or create world peace. Imagine if it could end world hunger and cure the sick. If only it were that easy.

But imagine this…Imagine you see someone who looks terribly down and you give them a genuine smile. Imagine that you just changed this person’s world. Imagine that you just saved them. Imagine that they go on to end world hunger and create world peace, all because of you. Just imagine. Anything is possible.

Someone out there needs to see a smile today. You should be the one to give it. I challenge you to try to go out of your way to smile at anyone you see. You never know the effect it might have!

14 thoughts on “Prompt of the Day: Cause, Meet Effect

  1. Agree, agree and agree. I always smile and wave to old people because it is so seldom that people notice them these days. Even if they don’t smile or wave back I do it anyway. I have nothing to lose by doing that. If I see old folks, I think: there is our future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

