Prompt of the Day: Getting Seasonal

“The holiday season: can’t get enough of it, or can’t wait for it all to be over already? Has your attitude toward the end-of-year holidays changed over the years?” –The Daily Post

When I was a kid, I always loved the holiday season. I loved the opportunity to see my family, eat more than I could handle, and play board games until I was sick of them. Now, every time December rolls around, I am struck with painful memories and sadness. On December 20th, 2011, I lost my one and only brother. Tomorrow marks three years since I last saw him. We had a relationship I can’t even explain. We were best friends, and he was my favorite person in the world. When I lost him, I lost most of my Christmas spirit and my relationship with God. It took me more than two years to rebuild this relationship. But now, I look at Christmas and I feel like I am surrounded by selfish people…people who are taking their family for granted…people that only care about the money and the presents. I highly encourage you all to enjoy the time you have with your family. You never know how much you have left. Think of others who are less fortunate than you. My city’s Salvation Army puts up an “Angel Tree” where local kids whose families cannot afford presents write down their clothes sizes and the presents they want for Christmas. My family was able to purchase gifts for the last three names on the tree this year. It was the funnest time we have had since December started. Remember what Christmas is about…Our Lord and Savior was born on this day. Celebrate his life and what he did for you. Enjoy your holiday! God bless!

One thought on “Prompt of the Day: Getting Seasonal

  1. Pingback: Getting Seasonal – Christmas and New Year | Jesus Saviour

Leave a Reply

